People Profiles
  • Filter your search

  • Reset Filters
Rebecca
experience-icon

experienced

Digital - Online / App / Mobile at Folk Digital
Q&A

Q: What is your job and what does your typical day involve?

A: I am a User Experience (UX) Practioner. This involves helping a client understand who their users are, how they experience the site, and use that information to make recommendations on how to improve that experience. A typical day is never typical - I may be completing user research, compiling Empathy Maps or Customer Experience journeys, conducting user test sessions, or discussing implementation recommendations with a client.

Q: How did you decide that you wanted to be a part of your industry?

A: After graduating university with a Psychology BSc, you walk away with a piece of paper and not much else, unless you start to specialise and continue study. My boyfriend was a UI Designer at the time and spoke about digital and UX with a lot of passion, so when I found an opportunity at Folk I jumped at the chance to enter the industry.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your industry?

A: That there's no real limitations. You can learn something, you can change something - whether it's improving a search algorithm or compression system, helping someone navigate a website or creating brand awareness, you can make that difference.

Q: Since starting your job, what's your greatest achievement?

A: Just knowing that I might have been able to help somewhere. It might not really be an 'achievement', as such, and improving a retail website might not be groundbreaking, but knowing that I might have been able to alleviate some stress or frustration somewhere. It's amazing how one little frustration can spiral into other areas of your day.

Q: Where were you born, and what made you come to Bournemouth?

A: I was born in West Sussex and went to university in Southampton. I met my still boyfriend just before my third year of university and he lived in Bournemouth so when I graduated I moved in with him.

Q: What do you remember about your first day at your job?

A: My coat was set on fire. The office was using free standing heaters with a metal grated front, and the chair that I had put my coat on was a little too close to the heater. Next thing we know there was a lot of smoke and I had a jacket reminiscent of a zebra.

Q: When you were a child, what did you want to be?

A: Either a vet or an artist (then a singer and a surgeon and at one point an accountant... I changed my mind a lot).

Q: When was the last time you learnt something new?

A: However cliché it sounds, I really do learn something new every day. The industry is constantly changing and evolving and there is always something to read or learn.

Q: What was your first job?

A: Retail assistant at Schuch.

Q: How are your company's Christmas parties?

A: Interesting and never the same. We've had Christmas parties in Mongolian yurts, at a cottage in Devon, and even at the office.

Q: What was the best advice somebody gave you?

A: Find out why you're doing something. Don't think about the end goal, the "I want to be a ...". Start with "I believe in ..." or "I'd like to be able to ...". Once you can work out why you're doing something, the what will form around that.

Q: What would you name the autobiography of your life?

A: "Just a Few Words More. (I've been told that I talk a lot)."

Want to find out more about careers in the digital, tech and creative industries? Get yourself onto a placement, or win some great prizes? Find out more
Rebecca Hugo
Rebecca Hugo interview